My Cedar Chest Makeover

The moment I saw this chest, I just knew I wanted it! The outside had some water damage and the veneer on it was pretty bad but the inside is intact. I didn’t post any photos of it because I have it full of junk that I haven’t figured out where else to store but there is absolutely nothing wrong with it. 1902865_10201698310045434_1882921519_n
However, I found this picture here of an exact chest as this one and this is exactly what the inside of mine looks like.

cd5883b50275f2ac55f255d6ccb3f716

I wish I knew how to restore it to it’s brand new condition but since I don’t and I didn’t want to spend any money, I did the next best thing; I used wood putty to even out the bad veneer and sanded it down. Then, painted and distressed it and I looove it!

IMG_8925

Please be kind and remember that beauty is in the eye of the beholder! 😉 I know there are some of you out there who would be horrified at the thought of painting it or who can do a better distressing job but allow me to say, I’m pretty happy with it! ((:

I’ve been thinking of rubbing some stain on it to add some depth to the areas that I distressed but I haven’t been to the hardware store. So, as of now, it sits pretty as is!
IMG_8926

It provides a sitting place in our hallway but that could change soon. Who knows?! 😉

Have a wonderful day and thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

