A Sign and An Update On My Trunk

I love farmhouse signs but I am not good at handwriting on a large scale nor do I have a nifty machine to make my own graphics (though I would love to)!

A few months ago, my sister and I found an old ice chest on the side of the road (the kind that’s made from repurposed wood) but it was broken and missing pieces. So, I took it apart and salvaged the wood so I can make something with it.

Here’s my first project from my stash of wood. I used this technique to transfer the words onto it and then sanded it down till it looked old and worn.

IMG_7313

It’s not really big but it sits pretty above my shutters and plates in the dining room.

untitled

And since I’d already admitted my fetish for numbers, let me share a picture of my updated trunk too. 😉

IMG_7296

This is the technique I used for it. I messed up a little bit on the edge of the number but I kind of like it like that!

So, there you have it. That’s what I’ve been up to. I hope you guys are enjoying your Sunday. This morning, we finally got some fallish type of weather here and it felt amazing outside!! I hope it’s nice wherever you are, too!! ((:

-Mari

4 thoughts on “A Sign and An Update On My Trunk

Leave a Reply

