From Trash To Treasures

Crafting is therapeutic for me and lately I’ve been creating a lot of stuff but I haven’t had a chance to post anything because I’ve been pretty busy so I’m just going to post a lot of it in this one post. I don’t say this lightly, please prepare for a picture overload! 😉

PicMonkey Collage

I found those shutters at a yard sale (at only $4 for the PAIR!) and snatched them as soon as I saw them!! I painted them and hung my book page rosette wreath on them. I am in looove with them! You can see them better in the picture at the bottom of this post with the mirror on the opposite side of them.

picmonkey-collage3ee1

I also have an unexplainable love for milk glass and I collect it (I’m secretly hoping that I will eventually have enough of it so that I can use it to make the center pieces when I have a wedding but don’t tell anyone)!! 😉 Can you believe I have never paid more than $2 per item?

IMG_4675

I also have a fetish for chalkboards and I found that shelve in a pile of trash. I painted the chalkboard over some roosters and I sprayed painted the wood and distressed it a little and now it hangs in my kitchen.

IMG_4694

I’d also been wanting to sew some pillow covers for a while and I finally built up the courage when I found an almost brand new white sheet at my local thrift shop.

PicMonkey Collage2

I made a couple of them from the white sheet and some plain ones from drop cloth to complement them.

IMG_4700

Another one of my fetishes is for coffee filters and I made these two pom poms using two different techniques and I absolutely love them both!

IMG_4659

And then there’s another curbside treasure that I rescued; that lovely mirror! I painted and distressed it and now it hangs in my dining room.

PicMonkey Collage3

I’ve also discovered a newfound love for grapevine wreaths and I’m really enjoying the simplicity of that wreath I hung on my bedroom door.

And last but not least I present to you one of my most precious finds!! That lovely window that I found in a trash pile a few months ago (like seriously, who in their right mind throws away a window?! Lol!). I’m thinking of doing something else with it but for the time being it sits on my night stand! Isn’t it just lovely?
PicMonkey Collage
I’m sorry if I overwhelmed you with all these pictures and please don’t hate me but I’ve got more things to post. I will do so as soon as I get a chance to snap some decent shots of them!! 😉 Let’s just say I found a smaller window and now my desk area is getting a make over to incorporate it so I can look at it when I sit here and blog because I love old things that much!!

Thank you for bearing with me, I hope you guys are having a wonderful night!

-Mari

Leave a Reply

